COAG Reform Agenda - Appoints Board of the National Licensing Authority

21 February 2012

A new board and Chair of the inaugural National Occupational Licensing Authority (NOLA) have been appointed as part of the Australian Governments' (COAG) reform agenda.

The NOLA Board will play a role in the establishment, direction and leadership of the new statutory authority and oversee policy direction and administration of the new national licensing system.

Ms Elizabeth Crouch has been appointed as Chair of the NOLA Board.

Ms Crouch has 10 years of experience on various public and private sector boards, including current appointments as Deputy Chancellor of Macquarie University and Chair of the New South Wales Fair Trading Advisory Council. Ms Crouch also chairs various audit committees in health and transport.

In particular, her current role as the Chair of the Fair Trading Advisory Council will be highly relevant to the industry and consumer protection elements of the new national licensing system. Ms Crouch will be a tremendous asset to the Board.

Eight Board members have also been appointed including:

Mr Graham Anderson

Mr Anderson has previously held roles within the Housing Industry Association (HIA). His roles included National President, Board Member and State President. Mr Anderson has also held senior roles with Bunnings Ltd and Bovis Homes Australia Ltd.

Mr Tony Arnel

Mr Arnel after 12 years has recently announced his resignation as Victoria's Building and Plumbing Industry Commissioner. He is Chair of the World Green Building Council and is founding Director and the current Chair of the Australian Green Building Council. Mr Arnel has been responsible for implementing significant improvements in practitioner training and training policy in the building and plumbing industries in Victoria.

Ms Miranda Douglas-Crane

Ms Douglas-Crane has had significant experience in senior executive roles in a range of industries, including 14 years experience in the development of employment and training policy and design for State and Commonwealth governments and has had direct involvement in trade training. She currently holds appointments on Austin Health, the State/Commonwealth $2 billion Northern Victoria Irrigation Renewal Project, RACV Foundation and the Board of Special Olympics Victoria.


Mr David Ford

Mr Ford is the Deputy Director-General and Commissioner for Fair Trading at the Queensland Department of Justice and Attorney-General. Mr Ford serves as the Queensland Treasury representative on the COAG Business Regulation and Competition Working Group which has oversight of the business, competition and regulation reforms.

Ms Anne Gale

Ms Gale is Deputy Commissioner and Director of Regulatory and Customer Services at the South Australian Office of Consumer and Business Affairs. Ms Gale has significant experience in senior and executive leadership roles, including 10 years at the Department for Families and Communities.

Mr Albert Koenig

Mr Koenig is a chartered professional electrical engineer with wide experience in electricity and gas utility engineering and executive management, as well as energy industry technical and safety regulation. In 1995 he became Western Australia's first Director of Energy Safety. In that role he was the statutory technical and safety regulator for the energy industry, including related occupational licensing.

Ms Wendy Machin

Ms Machin was previously New South Wales Minister for Consumer Affairs with portfolio responsibility for regulation and licensing of building, real estate and air travel industries and was Chair of the relevant Ministerial Advisory Council. Ms Machin is currently President of NRMA Motoring and Director of the Australian Automobile Association. She is also on the Board of Destination NSW and is a member of the ANZ Stadium Advisory Committee.


Mr John Sutton

Mr Sutton has worked in a variety of roles in Australia's trade unions, including nearly 20 years in the leadership of the Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union (CFMEU). He also held the position of Vice President of the Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) and recently held the position of Associate Commissioner at the Productivity Commission.

The NOLA Board members have extensive industry knowledge and appropriate skills and experience through their involvement in unions, employer representation, consumer advocacy and training.

NOLA was established on 1 January 2011 to administer the National Occupational Licensing System and will be based in Sydney.

The purpose of national licensing is to improve labour mobility and remove inconsistent regulation between states and territories with the ultimate aim of enhancing business efficiency and productivity.

The national system will commence initially for four occupational areas including electrical, refrigeration and air conditioning mechanics, plumbing and gas fitting, and some property occupations.

Second wave occupations will include building, building related occupations and conveyancers and valuers.

For further information about NOLA including Board member profiles visit: