Our Organisation Structure

Download thedepartment's organisation chart (effective from January 2018) or view the structure below.

Minister for Jobs and Innovation
Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash
Minister for Small and Family Business, the Workplace and Deregulation
The Hon Craig Laundy MP
Minister for Resources and Northern Australia
Senator the Hon Matthew Canavan
Assistant Minister for Science, Jobs and Innovation
Senator the Hon Zed Seselja


Dr Heather Smith PSM
Deputy Secretary - Sue Weston
Professor Graham Durant
Kate Driver
Science and Commercialisation Policy
Jane Urquhart
Michael Schwager
Chief Operating Officer


Jane Coram

Deputy CEO and Chief Metrologist
Dr Bruce Warrington

Physical Metrology
Dr Jan Herrmann

Analytical Services
Richard Coghlan

Chemical and
Biological Metrology

Dr Lindsey Mackay

Legal Metrology
Bill Loizides

Science Policy
Gino Grassia
Brad Medland CFO
Commercialisation Policy
David Wilson
Budgets, Property and Accounting
Sam White
Science Agencies Governance
Clare McLaughlin
Financial Services
Erika Fellows
Australian SKA Project
David Luchetti
Virginia Cook
  Legal, Audit and Assurance
Sacha Moran
  People and Planning
Natalie Marsh
Professor Warrick Couch
Neville Legg
  Ministerial, Shared Services and Portfolio Management
Heath Axelby (A/g)
Deputy Secretary - Elizabeth Kelly
Digital Strategy and Operations
Matthew Boyley
Chief Information Officer
Innovation Programmes
Sarah Clough (A/g)
Business Services
Teena Blewitt
Enabling Services
Brian Schumacher
Accelerating Commercialisation and Innovation Connections
Laura Rahn (A/g)
Programme Design and Business Grants Hub
Lisa Peterson
Departmental Services
Neil Kinsella
Business Management
Jennifer Kay
Single Business Service and CRC Programmes
Steve Stirling
Business Services
Clive Rossiter
Business Equity and Incentives
Joanne Mulder
Community, Small Business and International Science Programmes
Tracy Galindo-Fleming (A/g)
Government Services
Rebecca Lee
Centre for Defence Industry Capability
Andrew Garth
Industry, Structural Adjustment and Science Programmes
Jayne Facey
Strategy and Engagement
Narelle Luchetti
  State and Territory Network
VIC-Lisa Hind
NSW-Aapo Skorulis
Deputy Secretary - Mike Lawson
Portfolio Policy and Innovation Strategy
Chris Locke
Economic and Analytical Services
Mark Cully
Chief Economist
Bruce Wilson
Industry Growth
Trevor Power

Anti Dumping Commission
Dale Seymour

Paul Sexton

Economic and Strategic Services
Annette Weier

Digital Economy
Francesca Astolfi (A/g)

Insights and Evaluation
David Turvey

Offshore Resources
Lisa Schofield
Food, Chemicals and Business Facilitation
Terry Moore
Business Simplification
Louise Talbot
Economic Advice Service
Tim Bradley
Onshore Minerals
Josh Cosgrave (A/g)
Growth Centres
David Lawrence
Trade and International
Martin Squire

Department’s Overseas Counsellor Network
Data Management and Analytics Taskforce
Andrew Lalor
Onshore Energy
Michael Sheldrick

Industry Transition
Anne Byrne

Business Tax and Finance
Wayne Calder
Janna McCann
National Offshore Petroleum Titles Administrator
Graeme Waters
Advanced Technologies
Gary Richards

Australian Industry Participation
Office of Northern Australia
Mark Coffey

Energy Competitiveness
Geoff Whelan (A/g)

  Radioactive Waste Management Taskforce
Bruce McCleary
Strategic Policy
Anthea Long
IP Australia
Patricia Kelly
Director General
Geoscience Australia
Dr James Johnson

Portfolio Corporate Commonwealth Entities

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Dr Larry Marshall Chief Executive
Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS)
Dr Paul Hardistry CEO
Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Organisation (ANSTO)
Dr Adi Paterson CEO
National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority (NOPSEMA)
Stuart Smith CEO
Northern Australia Infrastructure Facility (NAIF)
Laurie Walker CEO

Other portfolio bodies

Office of Innovation and Science Australia
Charles Day CEO
Office of the Chief Scientist
Dr Alan Finkel Chief Scientist
COAG Australian Building Codes Board
Neil Savery