Civil Space Coordination

Like other nations, the application of space technologies, particularly through the use of satellite information, is vital to Australia’s economic and social infrastructure. Accordingly, the Government’s priority in civil space is on space applications of national significance that use satellite-derived information to enhance our economic and social wellbeing.

Ensuring that the operating environment is conducive to innovation, combined with coordination and international cooperation are the key factors to maintaining and strengthening the space capabilities on which Australia relies.

The Australian Government engages in a number of space-related activities to support our national strategic, economic and social objectives. These activities are administered by a range of Government agencies, with the department being the central point of contact and coordination for the Government’s involvement in national and international civil space activities.

Space Coordination Diagram

Space Coordination Committee

The Australian Government Space Coordination Committee provides a forum to coordinate the Government’s involvement in civil space activities. The Committee is chaired by the department and is comprised of government agencies with initiatives and programmes that have a civil space component:

  • Department of Industry, Innovation and Science: central point of contact and coordination for Australian civil space activities and international engagement.
  • Department of Defence: civil space activities that overlap with defence-related issues in space.
  • Geoscience Australia: position, navigation and timing, and Earth observation.
  • Bureau of Meteorology: space weather and Earth observation.
  • CSIRO: space science and research and Earth observation.
  • Department of Communications and the Arts: satellite communication and spectrum management.
  • Australian Communications and Media Authority: spectrum management.
  • Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade: engagement on space-related international security issues.
  • Attorney-general’s Department: critical infrastructure policy.
  • Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development: positioning, navigation and timing as it relates to the transport sector.
  • Department of the Environment and Energy: Earth observation as it relates to environmental management.
  • Department of Agriculture and Water Resources: Positioning, navigation and timing, and Earth observation as it relates to agricultural production systems.

The Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, and the Treasury have observer status on the Committee.

Share this Page