Documents from the proceedings

Hearings for the Montara Commission of Inquiry were held from 15 March to 16 April 2010. Submissions made to the Inquiry and transcripts of the daily hearings are posted below.


The Montara Commission of Inquiry (the Inquiry) sought submissions from all parties interested in the Terms of Reference.
To assist parties in the preparation of submissions, the Inquiry released a paper outlining some preliminary issues and questions relating to its Terms of Reference. The paper did not seek to limit or define matters that might have been pertinent to the Inquiry.

Collapsed - List of submissions

No.​ ​Submission
01 Mr Scott Ryan

Fire Fighting Technologies International Pty Ltd
Attachment 1
Attachment 2

03 A number of similar submissions have been received proposing constraints on the expansion of the petroleum industry on the North-West shelf of Australia’s Kimberley region.
04 James Kesteven
05 Australian Marine Oil Spill Centre
06 Cape Conservation Group Inc
07 Australian Marine Conservation Society
08 APPEA Ltd
09 Australian Conservation Foundation
10 Name kept confidential (Professional Engineer)
11 Brian Holland
12 Senator Rachel Siewert
13 Whale and Dolphin Conservation Society (International)
14 The Wilderness Society and Environs Kimberley
Note: The report referenced on pp. 6-7 of the submission is sourced from: M. M. Gagnon (2009). 'Report on biopsy collections from specimens collected from the surrounds of the west atlas oil leak - fish specimens', Curtin University, Perth, WA.
15 WWF-Australia

Australian Southern Blue Fin Tuna Industry Association Ltd (ASBTIA)

17 National Offshore Petroleum Safety Authority
18 Australian Government Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts
Attachment A
Attachment B
Attachment C
Attachment D
Attachment E
Attachment F
Attachment G
Attachment H
Attachment I
Attachment J
Attachment K
Attachment L
Attachment M
Attachment N
Attachment O
19 Western Australian Fishing Industry Council (WAFIC)
20 Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS)
21 PTTEP Australasia (Ashmore Cartier) Pty Ltd
Glossary of terms
Terms of Reference 1
Terms of Reference 4
Terms of Reference 5
Terms of Reference 6
Terms of Reference 7
Terms of Reference 7 Annex A
Terms of Reference 8
Terms of Reference 9
22 Atlas Drilling (S) Pte Ltd
23 Northern Territory Department of Resources
PO Box 3000 Darwin NT 0801
Attachment 1
Attachment 2
24 Australian Maritime Safety Authority
25 Kimberley Whale Watching
26 Labrador Holdings WA Pty., Ltd. Trustee of the Well Planning Trust. ABN: 1520471325
Note: The Directors of Labrador Petro-Management Pty Ltd have asked the Inquiry to clarify that they have no association with Mr Wayne Needoba of Labrador Holdings WA Pty Ltd.
Further submission
Information 1
Information 2
Information 3
Additional Information
27 Australian Institute of Marine and Power Engineers
28 Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism
29 Tim Kelly
30 University of Western Australia
31 Elmer P. Danenberger
32 Colin Leach
33 Senator Rachel Siewert
Note: A report on the testing of the samples submitted by Senator Siewert and statutory declarations (English language versios) made in relation to the collection of these samples are accessible through these links.
Sample analysis
Statutory declaration
34 Department of Transport WA
35 Australian Government Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts
Attachment A
Attachment C
Attachment D
36 Tina Hunter, Bond University

Analysis (oil spill response)
Biodiversity survey

38 West Timor Care Foundation
(Yayasan Peduli Timor Barat)


Transcripts from hearings for the Montara Commission of Inquiry held in 2010.


Documents exhibited within the public hearings for the Montara Commission of Inquiry.

Share this Page